Politics 101

I learned a lot about politics this year.  It doesn’t have so much to do with protocol and procedures as much as it does with human nature.

My adviser pointed out that some of my writings may have sounded like I was someone who recently entered the world of politics, only to be disillusioned with the fact that many of our politicians appear to be less than virtuous.

He was right.

I am disillusioned.

I think I have a right to be. 

As an American, I value my freedom immensely.  As a human being, I worry that the negativity that explodes every election year, has a bad effect on how we treat each other. I’ve noticed that the all the negatives ads, which we are forced to watch every election year, have a negative effect on the rest of us, as well.  How many times have you heard, “Damn ads, I wish those stupid people would just get over it.”  Negativity breeds negativity.

More than a few breathe a sigh of relief on Nov. 3 when things can get back to normal, such as it is. 

I was very disappointed when I woke up this morning and found out that things have changed in a blink of an eye.  It wasn’t the fact that Branstad was elected as governor, or that the Republicans now control the house.  It was the dismay that Iowans voted the three Iowa supreme court judges out. What a shame.

And I thought Iowa was moving forward.

It’s a sad day indeed when people start listening to the rants of a closed-minded governor-wanna-be who just wants to be in the spotlight.

I hope this move doesn’t jeopardize Iowa’s good nature and open-mindedness.  I would hate to think that the ramblings of one man could sway others to follow his way of thinking.  If that’s the case, we’re in trouble..

Leave a Reply

